Outstanding Reviewer Award

The Outstanding Reviewer Award is given annually to recognize reviewers who generously contribute their time to reviewing papers and display thoroughness, professionalism, and timeliness while doing so. Winners will be chosen from all the previous year's reviewers and revealed by the end of March each year.

The Prize:
– CHF 500;
– A free voucher for article processing fees valid for one year;
– A certificate.

Number of Winners: 3

Biology Outstanding Reviewer Award
Winner announcement: 31 March 2025


– All of the reviewers for Biology in 2024 will be automatically included.

Selection Criteria

– Number of review reports;
– The quality and timeliness of review reports.
Past Winners


Xiguang Xu
Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Marco Albano
Department of Chemical, Biological, Pharmaceutical and Environmental Sciences, University of Messina, Messina, Italy
Huiting Wu
School of Geoscience and Surveying Engineering, China University of Mining and Technology (Beijing), Beijing, China
Bohao Fang
Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA


Shaohua Chen
Department of Plant Pathology, College of Plant Protection and Integrative Microbiology Research Centre, South China Agricultural University, Guangzhou, China
Luca Poli
Department of Basic Medical Sciences, Neuroscience and Sense Organs, University of Study of Bari, Bari, Italy
Alberto Collareta
Earth Sciences Department, University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy
Gianpiero Greco
Department of Translational Biomedicine and Neuroscience (DiBraiN), University of Study of Bari, Bari, Italy
Francisco Curate
Research Centre for Anthropology and Health, Department of Life Sciences, Faculty of Sciences and Technology, University of Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal


Enrico Vito Perrino
CIHEAM, Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Bari, 70010 Valenzano, Italy
Dhirendra Kumar
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709, USA
Carlos A. Viegas
Department of Veterinary Sciences, University of Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro, 5000-801 Vila Real, Portugal
Yuri Shavrukov
College of Science and Engineering, Biological Sciences, Flinders University, Adelaide, SA 5042, Australia
Bipin Gaihre
Mayo Clinic, 200 First Street, Rochester, MN 55906, USA

Award Committee

Prof. Andrés Moya Chairman
University of València
Prof. Jukka Finne
University of Helsinki
Back to TopTop