The Jack Dangermond Award

Award description The winners of the award

The Jack Dangermond Award, sponsored by MDPI and ESRI, was established to encourage and stimulate the submission of high-quality scientific papers by individual authors or groups to the journal, to promote and advertise the journal, and to honor the outstanding contributions of Jack Dangermond to research on and the development of geospatial sciences.

The award, which consists of an ISPRS certificate and a grant of USD 10,000, will be presented every four years to the author(s) of an outstanding paper on one of the topics included in the scope of the journal. The recipient(s) of the Jack Dangermond Award shall only receive the award once.

The Jack Dangermond Award 2017–2019
The Jack Dangermond Award 2020–2021
The Jack Dangermond Award 2022–2025

The Jack Dangermond Award—Best Paper 2022
A Forest of Forests: A Spatially Weighted and Computationally Efficient Formulation of Geographical Random Forests
By Stefanos Georganos and Stamatis Kalogirou
ISPRS Int. J. Geo-Inf. 2022, 11(9), 471;

The Jack Dangermond Award—Best Paper 2023      
 Deep Learning Semantic Segmentation for Land Use and Land Cover Types Using Landsat 8 Imagery
By Wuttichai Boonpook, Yumin Tan, Attawut Nardkulpat, Kritanai Torsri, Peerapong Torteeka, Patcharin Kamsing, Utane Sawangwit, Jose Pena and Montri Jainaen
ISPRS Int. J. Geo-Inf. 2023, 12(1), 14;

IJGI The Jack Dangermond Award

Eligibility and Requirements

Past Winners


Levente Juhász
GIS Center, Florida International University, Miami, FL 33199, USA
Back to TopTop