Journal History

2008 Inaugural issue released, initially published by Prof. Dr. Alan Wong in print (ISSN 1911-8066 for print edition) and online (ISSN 1911-8074 for electronic edition) with one annual volume from 2008 until the end of 2012.
2013 Published quarterly and online by MDPI. MDPI took over the publication of this title on 1 October 2013. Articles published prior to 1 October 2013 on were transferred to the MDPI platform and left unchanged. MDPI will continue to publish the online edition only.
2016 Indexed in the Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI—Web of Science).
2018 JRFM applied to be indexed in Scopus.
JRFM became an affiliated journal of the International Engineering and Technology Institute (IETI), the Institute of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence (IDSAI), and the International Research Institute for Economics and Management (IRIEM).
JRFM published its first Special Issue book “Extreme Values and Financial Risk”.
2019 Indexed in the ABDC - Australian Business Deans Council
Indexed in the Norwegian Register for Scientific Journals, Series and Publishers (NSD)
Indexed in the EconBiz/ECONIS (Leibniz Information Centre for Economics - ZBW)
JRFM establishes the following Sections:
  • Risk
  • Banking and Finance
  • Mathematical Finance
  • Financial Economics
  • Financial Markets
  • Financial Technology and Innovation
  • Sustainable Finance
  • Entrepreneurial Finance
  • Tourism: Economics, Finance and Management
  • Applied Economics and Finance
JRFM publishes the following Special Issue books: JRFM establishes a Reviewer Board.
JRFM appreciates the reviewers’ contributions and announces the winners of 2019 Outstanding Reviewer Award
JRFM appreciates the authors’ contributions and announces the winners of 2019 Best Paper Award
JRFM launches the 2020 Travel Award. Nominations end by 1 April 2020.
JRFM launches the 2020 Best Paper Awards & 2020 Outstanding Reviewer Awards
2020 JRFM is published on a monthly basis.


2008-2012 Founding Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Raymond A.K. Cox
2013-to date Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Michael McAleer

Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Michael McAleer, for the section Risk
Section Editor-in-Chief Dr. James R. Barth, for the section Banking and Finance
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Thanasis Stengos, for the section Financial Economics
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Xuezhong (Tony) He, for the section Financial Markets
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Wing-Keung Wong, for the section Mathematical Finance
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Shigeyuki Hamori, for the section Financial Technology and Innovation
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. C. Michael Hall, for the section Tourism: Economics, Finance and Management
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Ming-Lang Tseng, for the section Sustainable Finance
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Chia-Lin Chang, for the section Applied Economics and Finance

Back to TopTop