Journal History

2000 Inaugural issue released, initially published as a quarterly journal.
2007 Indexed by Scopus.
2009 Indexed by Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE).
2010 Started to publish monthly.
2011 First Impact Factor received (1.109).
2012 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 1.183 for the year 2011.
2013 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 1.347 for the year 2012.
2014 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 1.564 for the year 2013.
Launched six sections: Thermodynamics, Statistical Mechanics, Information Theory, Astrophysics and Cosmology, Quantum Information, Complexity
2015 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 1.502 for the year 2014.
2016 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 1.743 for the year 2015.
2017 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 1.821 for the year 2016.
2018 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 2.305 for the year 2017.
Entropy celebrates its 20th anniversary and its first edition of Entropy 2018: From Physics to Information Sciences and Geometry was held in Barcelona, Spain.
Launched four new sections: Entropy Reviews, Entropy and Biology, Signal and Data Analysis, Multidisciplinary Applications.
2019 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 2.419 for the year 2018.
Published 5000th paper.
Launched one new section: Time.
2020 Entropy received an Impact Factor of 2.494 for the year 2019.
Indexed in PubMed and PubMed Central.
Launched one new section: Non-Equilibrium Phenomena.


1999-2003 Founding Editor-in-Chief Dr. Shu-Kun Lin
2003-2006 Editor-in-Chief Dr. Michel Petitjean
2006-2008 Editor-in-Chief Dr. Shu-Kun Lin
2009-2011 Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Peter Harremoëse
2012- Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Kevin H. Knuth
2014- Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Jay Lawrence for the Section “Quantum Information”
Section Editor-in-Chief
Dr. Antonio M. Scarfone for the Section “Statistical Mechanics”
Section Editor-in-Chief
Prof. Dr. J. A. Tenreiro Machado for the Section “Complexity”
2015- Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Raúl Alcaraz Martínez for the Section “Information Theory”
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Milivoje M. Kostic for the Section “Thermodynamics”
2016- Section Editor-in-Chief Dr. Remo Garattini for the Section “Astrophysics and Cosmology”
2018- Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Miguel Rubi for the Section “Entropy Reviews”
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. William B. Sherwin for the Section “Entropy and Biology”
2019 Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Gregg Jaeger appointed for the Section “Time”
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Robert Niven appointed for the Section “Multidisciplinary Applications”
2020 Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Ernestina Menasalvas appointed for the Section “Signal and Data Analysis”
Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Lamberto Rondoni appointed for the Section “Non-Equilibrium Phenomena”
Back to TopTop