Best Paper Award

The editorial team would like to congratulate the winners of the Lubricants 2018 Best Paper Award, who were chosen by the Journal Awards Committee, chaired by the Editor-in-Chief, Prof. Dr. Homer Rahnejat.

The following papers, in no particular order, won first prize in the Lubricants 2020 Best Paper Award:

Are Ionic Liquids Good Boundary Lubricants? A Molecular Perspective
Lubricants 2018, 6(1), 9; doi: 10.3390/lubricants6010009
Available online at:

Synergistic Effect of Nanodiamond and Phosphate Ester Anti-Wear Additive Blends
Lubricants 2018, 6(2), 56; doi: 10.3390/lubricants6020056
Available online at:

Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Lubrication by Ionic Liquids: Activated Slip and Flow
Lubricants 2018, 6(3), 64; doi: 10.3390/lubricants6030064
Available online at:

In recognition of their accomplishment, each Best Paper Award winner will receive a certificate, 300 CHF, and an opportunity to publish a paper in Lubricants free of charge in open-access format, after the standard peer-review process.

Please join us in congratulating the winners of the Lubricants 2018 Best Paper Award. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all our authors for your continued support of Lubricants.

Kind regards,
Lubricants Editorial Office

Lubricants 2018 Best Paper Award

Eligibility and Requirements

– All papers published in Lubricants will be eligible (Both regular and Special Issue submissions).
Past Winners


18 pages, 2207 KiB  
Modelling of Lubricated Electrical Contacts
by Robert L. Jackson and Santosh Angadi
Lubricants 2022, 10(3), 32; - 22 Feb 2022
32 pages, 7438 KiB  
Graphene-Based Nanomaterials as Lubricant Additives: A Review
by Qiulong Gao, Shuwen Liu, Kaiming Hou, Zhangpeng Li and Jinqing Wang
Lubricants 2022, 10(10), 273; - 21 Oct 2022

Award Committee

Prof. Homer Rahnejat Chairman
University of Central Lancashire


Max Marian and Stephan Tremmel
1 Engineering Design, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg (FAU), Martensstr. 9, 91058 Erlangen, Germany 2 Engineering Design and CAD, University of Bayreuth, Universitätsstr. 30, 95477 Bayreuth, Germany
G. Nicholas, B. P. Clarke and R. S. Dwyer-Joyce
Leonardo Centre for Tribology, Department of Mechanical Engineering, The University of Sheffield, Sheffield S1 3JD, UK


Jeffrey R. Lince
Space Tribology Consulting
Jörg Schille
University of Applied Sciences Mittweida, Laserinstitut Hochschule Mittweida, Technikumplatz 17, 09648 Mittweida, Germany


Mehmet Z. Baykara
Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of California Merced, Merced, CA 95343, USA
Christoph Knauder
VIRTUAL VEHICLE Research Center, Inffeldgasse 21A, 8010 Graz, Austria
Michele Ciavarella
Department of Mechanics, Mathematics and Management, Politecnico di Bari, Via Orabona 4, 70125 Bari, Italy


Susan Perkin
Department of Chemistry, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory, University of Oxford, Oxford OX1 3QZ, UK
Biplav Acharya; Jacqueline Krim
Department of Physics, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 27695, USA
Rosa M. Espinosa-Marzal
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 205 N Matthews Avenue, Urbana, IL 61801, USA

Award Committee

Prof. Homer Rahnejat Chairman
University of Central Lancashire
Back to TopTop