Best Paper Award

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce the “Cancers 2023 Best Paper Award” for research and review articles published in Cancers from 1 January 2023 to 31 December 2023. Two reviews and two research articles will receive an award each. The papers will be selected after a thorough evaluation by the journal Award Committee led by the Editor-in-Chief, Prof. Dr. Samuel C. Mok.

Eligibility for the Award:
– Papers published in Cancers from 1 January 2023 to 31 December 2023;
– Open to all career levels;
– Both regular and Special Issue submissions will be considered.

Selection Criteria:
The papers will be selected by the journal Award Committee according to the following criteria:
– Scientific merit and broad impact;
– Originality of the research objectives and/or the ideas presented;
– Creativity of the study design or uniqueness of the approaches and concepts;
– Clarity of presentation;
– Citations and downloads.

The Prize:
Two review awards and two research article awards will each receive CHF 500, an electronic certificate and a chance to publish a paper free of charge in Cancers before the end of June 2026 after peer review.

The winners will be announced on the journal website in June 2025.

Kind regards,
Cancers Editorial Office

Cancers Best Paper Award
Winner announcement: 30 June 2025

Eligibility and Requirements

– All papers published in Cancers will be eligible (Both regular and Special Issue submissions).
Past Winners


14 pages, 900 KiB  
Accurate Screening for Early-Stage Breast Cancer by Detection and Profiling of Circulating Tumor Cells
by Timothy Crook, Robert Leonard, Kefah Mokbel, Alastair Thompson, Michael Michell, Raymond Page, Ashok Vaid, Ravi Mehrotra, Anantbhushan Ranade, Sewanti Limaye, Darshana Patil, Dadasaheb Akolkar, Vineet Datta, Pradip Fulmali, Sachin Apurwa, Stefan Schuster, Ajay Srinivasan and Rajan Datar
Cancers 2022, 14(14), 3341; - 9 Jul 2022
18 pages, 2344 KiB  
T-Cells Expressing a Highly Potent PRAME-Specific T-Cell Receptor in Combination with a Chimeric PD1-41BB Co-Stimulatory Receptor Show a Favorable Preclinical Safety Profile and Strong Anti-Tumor Reactivity
by Nadja Sailer, Ina Fetzer, Melanie Salvermoser, Monika Braun, Doris Brechtefeld, Christian Krendl, Christiane Geiger, Kathrin Mutze, Elfriede Noessner, Dolores J. Schendel, Maja Bürdek, Susanne Wilde and Daniel Sommermeyer
Cancers 2022, 14(8), 1998; - 14 Apr 2022
27 pages, 12636 KiB  
Chemotherapy Side-Effects: Not All DNA Damage Is Equal
by Winnie M. C. van den Boogaard, Daphne S. J. Komninos and Wilbert P. Vermeij
Cancers 2022, 14(3), 627; - 26 Jan 2022
29 pages, 1779 KiB  
Engineering Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells for Cancer Immunotherapy
by Yang Zhou, Miao Li, Kuangyi Zhou, James Brown, Tasha Tsao, Xinjian Cen, Tiffany Husman, Aarushi Bajpai, Zachary Spencer Dunn and Lili Yang
Cancers 2022, 14(9), 2266; - 1 May 2022

Award Committee

Dr. Samuel Mok Chairman
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
Prof. Donat Kögel
Klinikum der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt
Dr. Nicola Amodio
Università Magna Graecia di Catanzaro


13 pages, 632 KiB  
PD-L1, TMB, MSI, and Other Predictors of Response to Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors in Biliary Tract Cancer
by Alessandro Rizzo, Angela Dalia Ricci and Giovanni Brandi
Cancers 2021, 13(3), 558; - 1 Feb 2021
24 pages, 790 KiB  
STING Agonists as Cancer Therapeutics
by Afsaneh Amouzegar, Manoj Chelvanambi, Jessica N. Filderman, Walter J. Storkus and Jason J. Luke
Cancers 2021, 13(11), 2695; - 30 May 2021
16 pages, 4842 KiB  
LAG-3 Blockade with Relatlimab (BMS-986016) Restores Anti-Leukemic Responses in Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
by Christian Sordo-Bahamonde, Seila Lorenzo-Herrero, Ana P. González-Rodríguez, Ángel R. Payer, Esther González-García, Alejandro López-Soto and Segundo Gonzalez
Cancers 2021, 13(9), 2112; - 27 Apr 2021
15 pages, 934 KiB  
The Role of the Immune Metabolic Prognostic Index in Patients with Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) in Radiological Progression during Treatment with Nivolumab
by Matteo Bauckneht, Carlo Genova, Giovanni Rossi, Erika Rijavec, Maria Giovanna Dal Bello, Giulia Ferrarazzo, Marco Tagliamento, Maria Isabella Donegani, Federica Biello, Silvia Chiola, Lodovica Zullo, Stefano Raffa, Francesco Lanfranchi, Giuseppe Cittadini, Cecilia Marini, Egesta Lopci, Gianmario Sambuceti, Francesco Grossi and Silvia Morbelli
Cancers 2021, 13(13), 3117; - 22 Jun 2021

Award Committee

Dr. Samuel Mok Chairman
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
Back to TopTop