Best Paper Award

We are pleased to announce the winners of the Antibiotics 2019 Best Paper Awards. All papers published in 2019 in Antibiotics were considered for the award. After a thorough evaluation of the originality and significance of the papers, citations, and downloads, the two winning papers, which were nominated by the journal Award Committee, have been selected.

Antimicrobial and Synergistic Effects of Commercial Piperine and Piperlongumine in Combination with Conventional Antimicrobials
By Eunice Ego Mgbeahuruike, Milla Stålnacke, Heikki Vuorela and Yvonne Holm
Antibiotics 2019, 8(2), 55

Antibiotic Discovery: Where Have We Come from, Where Do We Go?
By Bernardo Ribeiro da Cunha, Luís P. Fonseca and Cecília R. C. Calado
Antibiotics 2019, 8(2), 45

Each winner will receive 500 CHF and the opportunity to publish one paper with 50% discount in Antibiotics in 2021. We believe the above papers represent valuable contributions to Antibiotics and the scientific literature. We warmly congratulate the winners.

Kind regards,
Antibiotics Editorial Office

Antibiotics 2019 Best Paper Award

Eligibility and Requirements

– All papers published in Antibiotics  will be eligible (Both regular and Special Issue submissions).
Past Winners


17 pages, 558 KiB  
Stability Studies of 16 Antibiotics for Continuous Infusion in Intensive Care Units and for Performing Outpatient Parenteral Antimicrobial Therapy
by Guillaume Loeuille, Elise D’Huart, Jean Vigneron, Yann-Eric Nisse, Benoit Beiler, Caroline Polo, Gillian Ayari, Matthieu Sacrez, Béatrice Demoré and Alexandre Charmillon
Antibiotics 2022, 11(4), 458; - 29 Mar 2022
26 pages, 1707 KiB  
Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing: A Comprehensive Review of Currently Used Methods
by Ina Gajic, Jovana Kabic, Dusan Kekic, Milos Jovicevic, Marina Milenkovic, Dragana Mitic Culafic, Anika Trudic, Lazar Ranin and Natasa Opavski
Antibiotics 2022, 11(4), 427; - 23 Mar 2022

Award Committee

Prof. Nicholas Dixon Chairman
University of Wollongong
Dr. Krisztina M. Papp-Wallace
JMI laboratories
Prof. Jeffrey Lipman
University of Queensland


15 pages, 4947 KiB  
pH-Responsive “Smart” Hydrogel for Controlled Delivery of Silver Nanoparticles to Infected Wounds
by Hanif Haidari, Zlatko Kopecki, Adam T. Sutton, Sanjay Garg, Allison J. Cowin and Krasimir Vasilev
Antibiotics 2021, 10(1), 49; - 5 Jan 2021
25 pages, 909 KiB  
Mechanisms of Antibiotic Resistance in Important Gram-Positive and Gram-Negative Pathogens and Novel Antibiotic Solutions
by Loukas Kakoullis, Eleni Papachristodoulou, Paraskevi Chra and George Panos
Antibiotics 2021, 10(4), 415; - 10 Apr 2021


Charles H. Chen
Synthetic Biology Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Philip Joosten
Veterinary Epidemiology Unit, Department of Obstetrics, Reproduction and Herd Health, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Ghent University


Eunice Ego Mgbeahuruike
Division of Pharmaceutical Biosciences, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Helsinki, P.O. Box 56, FI-00014 Helsinki, Finland
Bernardo Ribeiro da Cunha
Institute for Bioengineering and Biosciences (IBB), Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Universidade de Lisboa (UL); Av. Rovisco Pais, 1049-001 Lisboa, Portugal

Award Committee

Prof. Nicholas Dixon Chairman
University of Wollongong
Back to TopTop