2 June 2022
MDPI’s 2021 Travel Awards in “Biology & Life Sciences”—Winners Announced

We are proud to recognize the winners of MDPI’s 2021 Travel Awards in the “Biology & Life Sciences” category for their outstanding presentations and to present them with the prize.

MDPI journals regularly offer travel awards to encourage talented junior scientists to present their latest research at academic conferences in specific fields, which helps to increase their influence.

The winners mentioned below were carefully selected by the journal editors based on an outline of their research and the work to be presented at an academic conference.

We would like to warmly congratulate the winners of 2021 Travel Awards and wish them the greatest success with their future research endeavors. MDPI will continue to enhance communication among scientists.


  • Zahra Bitarafan, Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research (NIBIO), Norway
  • Nikolaos Tsoulias, Leibniz Institute for Agricultural Engineering and Bioeconomy (ATB), Germany


  • Michela Verni, University of Bari, Italy
  • Philipp Demling, RWTH Aachen University, Germany


  • Jagveer Singh, Punjab Agricultural University, India
  • Ibrar Hussain, State University of Londrina, Brazil


  • Francis Muchaamba, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Methods and Protocols:

  • Tanja Eisemann, SBP Medical Discovery Institute, USA


  • Mrinalini Dey, National Institute for Health Research, UK
  • Ben Kirk, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Kirrilly Pursey, University of Newcastle, Australia
  • Dieuwertje Kok, Wageningen University, the Netherlands
  • Hanna Huber, University of Bonn, Germany
  • Marlene Lages, University of Porto, Portugal
  • Zohra S. Lassi, University of Adelaide, Australia
  • Rik Olde Engberink, Amsterdam University Medicial Center, the Netherlands
  • Sarah Warkentin, University of Porto (ISPUP), Portugal
  • Álvaro Hernáez, Norwegian Institute of Public Health, Norway
  • Leila Abdelhamid, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, Virginia Tech, USA
  • Maria Michela Cesare, University of Siena, Italy
  • Kaisa Hiippala, University of Helsinki, Finland


  • Vanessa Silva, University of Trás-os-Montes and Alto Douro, Portugal
  • Hejun Liu, Scripps Research Institute, USA
  • Tomokazu Tamura, Princeton University, USA


  • Cecilie Knudsen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Laura Biessy, Cawthron Institute, New Zealand
  • Marcelo Mendes Rabelo, University of Florida, USA


  • Hee Chun Chung, Seoul National University, South Korea
  • Alejandro Marin Lopez, Yale University, USA

More News...
Back to TopTop