Coatings 2018 Best Paper Awards

Winner announcement date (expired): 30 June 2019
download description

Coatings established the Best Paper Award to recognize its best published articles each year. The prize started in 2015 and since 2016 it has been awarded in two categories: Best Original Research Article and Best Review Paper.

Nominations were selected by the Editorial Office of Coatings among the Papers published in 2017. The selection committee is chaired by the Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Alessandro Lavacchi, and supported by Prof. Dr. Massimo Innocenti, Prof. Dr. Steve Bull, Prof. Dr. Philippe Dubois and Dr. Michele Fedel. They examined each paper and have expressed their preferences in the ranking of the “Coatings Best Paper Award 2018”.

Original Research Article Award:
1st Prize
Development of YSZ Thermal Barrier Coatings Using Axial Suspension Plasma Spraying
Dapeng Zhou, Olivier Guillon and Robert Vaßen
Coatings 2017, 7(8), 120; doi:10.3390/coatings7080120
Available online:

2nd Prize
Antireflection Coatings for Strongly Curved Glass Lenses by Atomic Layer Deposition
Kristin Pfeiffer, Ulrike Schulz, Andreas Tünnermann and Adriana Szeghalmi
Coatings 2017, 7(8), 118; doi:10.3390/coatings7080118
Available online:

3rd Prize
Defect-Free Large-Area (25 cm2) Light Absorbing Perovskite Thin Films Made by Spray Coating
Mehran Habibi, Amin Rahimzadeh, Inas Bennouna and Morteza Eslamian
Coatings 2017, 7(3), 42; doi:10.3390/coatings7030042
Available online:

Review Paper Award:
A Guide to and Review of the Use of Multiwavelength Raman Spectroscopy for Characterizing Defective Aromatic Carbon Solids: from Graphene to Amorphous Carbons
Alexandre Merlen, Josephus Gerardus Buijnsters and Cedric Pardanaud
Coatings 2017, 7(10), 153; doi:10.3390/coatings7100153
Available online:

These four outstanding papers are valuable contributions to Coatings. On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board, we would like to congratulate these four teams for their excellent work. In recognition of their accomplishment, Dr. Dapeng Zhou, Dr. Olivier Guillon, Dr. Robert Vaßen, Dr. Ulrike Schulz, Dr. Andreas Tünnermann, Dr. Adriana Szeghalmi, Dr. Morteza Eslamian, Dr. Alexandre Merlen, Dr. Josephus Gerardus Buijnsters and Dr. Cedric Pardanaud will benefit from the publication of an additional paper free of charge in open access format in Coatings after the usual peer-review procedure.

Back to TopTop