Toxins 2019 Young Investigator Award

Nomination deadline (expired): 30 December 2019
download description

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2019 Toxins Young Investigator Award is Prof. Nicholas R Casewell.

Professor Casewell’s research focuses on the evolutionary and biomedical aspects of animal toxins. Following the completion of his PhD studies at Bangor University, UK, where he focused on characterising the composition of saw-scaled viper venoms, Nick worked in research and development at an antivenom manufacturing company. Thereafter, he won a research fellowship to investigate the evolution of fish venoms before moving to Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (LSTM), UK, in 2014 to take up a faculty position. In 2019, Nick was appointed as Professor of Neglected Tropical Diseases by LSTM, and he also currently holds the position of Wellcome Trust Research Fellow. He has published over 70 papers on animal toxins, and his most notable work relates to understanding the processes that generate toxin variation and how this information can be applied to better inform new treatment strategies for the world’s snakebite victims.

Please join us in congratulating Prof. Nicholas R Casewell on his award, and for his outstanding achievements. As the awardee, Prof. Nicholas R Casewell will receive an honorarium of 2000 CHF and an engraved trophy.

Prof. Jay Fox
Department of Microbiology,
University of Virginia,
Charlottesville, USA

Back to TopTop