Journal History

2010 Inaugural issue is released, initially published as a quarterly journal.
2013 Covered by EI Compendex and Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE).
Micromachines publishes its 100th paper.
2014 Receives 1st Impact Factor in July 2014: 1.286 (2013).
2015 Micromachines is transferred to a monthly journal.
Micromachines begins cooperating with the Chinese Society of Micro-Nano Technology and publishes selected papers from the CSMNT annual meeting.
2016 Exhibits at the Optofluidics 2016 conference from 24–27 July 2016 in Beijing, China.
Micromachines publishes its 500th paper.
Micromachines publishes its first issue cover (Issue 11, Volume 7).
2017 Micromachines starts the Travel Award project 2017.
Receives 4th Impact Factor in June 2017: 1.833 (2016).
Exhibits at the Optofluidics 2017 conference from 25–28 July 2017 in Singapore.
Exhibits at the MicroTAS 2017 conference from 22–26 October 2017 in Savannah, Georgia, USA.
2018 Exhibits at MEMS 2018 conference from 21–25 January 2018 in Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Receives 5th Impact Factor in June 2018: 2.222 (2017).
Indexed by PubMed (NLM).
Micromachines publishes its 1000th paper.
Micromachines is organizing the Best Paper Award 2018.
2019 Receives 6th Impact Factor in June 2018: 2.426 (2018).
Micromachines publishes its 2000th paper.
Micromachines starts the Outstanding Reviewer Awards project 2019.
Micromachines is organizing the Travel Award 2019 and Best Paper Award 2019.
Exhibits at MEMS 2019 conference from 27–31 January 2019 in Seoul, Korea.
Exhibits at MNE 2019 conference from 23–26 September 2019 in Rhodes, Greece.
Exhibits at MicroTAS 2019 conference from 27–31 October 2019 in Basel, Switzerland.
2020 Receives 7th Impact Factor in June: 2.523 (2019)
Section "Engineering and Technology" is set up
Newly Appointed Section Associate Editors of Micromachines
Micromachines Reaches 3000 Article Milestone in July
Starts Micromachines Best Paper Award 2020
Starts Micromachines Outstanding Reviewer Award 2020
Starts Micromachines Young Investigator Award 2020


2010– Founding Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Miko Elwenspoek
2013– Associate Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Joost Lötters
2016– Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen
2017– Associate Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Ai Qun Liu
2018– Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Ai Qun Liu for section “Micro-/Nano-System and Technology”.
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen for section “Micro/Nanofluidics and Lab on a Chip”.
2019– Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Ai Qun Liu for section “A: Physics”.
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Nam-Trung Nguyen for section “B: Biology”
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Mehmet Remzi Dokmeci for section “D: Materials and Processing”
Back to TopTop