Journal History

2011 Brain Sciences was founded and the founding Editor-in-Chief was Prof. Dr. Germán Barrionuevo, initially published as a quarterly journal.
2012 Brain Sciences was covered by Chemical Abstracts (CAS)
2014 Brain Sciences was in PubMed and PubMed Central (PMC)
2015 Brain Sciences was covered by ESCI
2016 Brain Sciences was accepted for Coverage in Scopus
2017 Brain Sciences became a monthly journal.
2018 Brain Sciences 2017 CiteScore™ Announced—2.56
2018 Brain Sciences has instituted a Section Editor-in-Chief structure to spread all submissions to nine Sections.

Brain Sciences was accepted for coverage in Science Citation Index Expanded-SCIE. The first Impact Factor was 2.786.

Professor Stephen D. Meriney was appointed as the Editor-in-Chief of Brain Sciences.


The 2019 Impact Factor increased to 3.332. Brain Sciences ranked 113/271 (Q2) in the Category ‘Neurosciences’ in SCIE.

2021 The 2020 Impact Factor increased to 3.394.


2011–2019 Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Germán Barrionuevo
2020–present Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Stephen D. Meriney

Section Editors-in-Chief

2018–2021 Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Jason Brandt for the section on Cognitive Neuroscience
2018–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Evanthia Bernitsas for the section on Neurotechnology and Neuroimaging
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Heather Bortfeld for the section on Neurolinguistics
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Mark Burke for the section on Developmental Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Caterina Cinel for the section on Neural Engineering, Neuroergonomics and Neurorobotics
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Andrew Clarkson for the section on Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Sergey Kasparov for the section on Neuroglia
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Jose Lujan for the section on Computational Neuroscience and Neuroinformatics
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Konstantin V. Slavin for the section on Systems Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Pierluigi Zoccolotti for the section on Neuropsychology
2021–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Mark S. Kindy for the section on Environmental Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Robert Kelly for the section on Psychiatric Diseases
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Luigi De Gennaro for the section on Behavioral Neuroscience
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Roberto Cilia for the section on Neuromuscular and Movement Disorders
Back to TopTop