Journal History

2012 The inaugural issue was released. Actuators was published as a quarterly journal.
2013 Actuators was indexed in Inspec (IET) and Genamics JournalSeek.
2016 Actuators was indexed in Emerging Sources Citation Index—Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics).

Actuators was indexed in Scopus from Vol. 6.

Actuators announced the first edition of the Travel Award.

2019 Actuators was indexed in the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) from Vol. 6 (2017).

Actuators received its first Impact Factor (1.957).

Actuators received a CiteScore (2019) of 4.2.

The 1st International Electronic Conference on Actuator Technology: Materials, Devices and Applications (IeCAT 2020) was held on Sciforum.

Actuators announced the first edition of Young Investigator Award, Outstanding Reviewer Award and Best Paper Award.

Actuators established the following sections:
-Actuators for Land Transport;
-Aircraft Actuators;
-Actuators for Medical Instruments;
-Actuators for Robotics;
-Actuators for Manufacturing Systems;
-Actuator Materials;
-High Torque/Power Density Actuators;
-Precision Actuators;
-Miniaturized and Micro Actuators.

2021 Actuators adopted a monthly publication schedule.
2022 The year 2022 marked the 10th Anniversary of Actuators.


2012–2020 Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Delbert Tesar
2021–present Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Kenji Uchino

Section Editor-in-Chief

2021–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Hai Wang for the section on Actuators for Land Transport
Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Matteo Cianchetti for the section on Actuators for Robotics
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Eihab M. Abdel-Rahman for the section on Precision Actuators
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Nicola Pio Belfiore for the section on Miniaturized and Micro Actuators
2022–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Guanghong Yang for the section on Control Systems
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Zhuming Bi for the section on Actuators for Manufacturing Systems
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Prof. Dr. Shuxiang Dong for the section on Actuator Materials
2023–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Norman M. Wereley for the section on Aircraft Actuators
Back to TopTop