

sensors

ISSN 1424-8220

awww.mdpi.com/journal/sensors

Editorial

Sensors Best Paper Award 2015

Vittorio M.N. Passaro ^{1,*}, W. Rudolf Seitz ^{2,*}, Assefa M. Melesse ^{3,*}, Alexander Star ^{4,*} and Leonhard Reindl ^{5,*}

- Department of Electrical and Information Engineering, Politecnico di Bari, Via E. Orabona n. 4, 70125 Bari, Italy; E-Mail: vittorio.passaro@poliba.it; Tel.: +39-80-5963-850; Fax: +39-80-5963-410
- ² Analytical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH 03824-3598, USA; E-Mail: wrs@cisunix.unh.edu; Tel.: +1-603-862-2408; Fax: +1-603-862-4278
- Department of Earth and Environment, AHC-5-390, Florida International University, 11200 SW 8th Street, Miami, FL 33199, USA; E-Mail: melessea@fiu.edu; Tel.: +1-305-348-6518; Fax: +1-305-348-3877
- Department of Chemistry, University of Pittsburgh, 219 Parkman Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15260, USA; E-Mail: astar@pitt.edu; Tel.: +1-412-624-6493; Fax: +1-412-624-4027
- Laboratory for Electrical Instrumentation, Department of Microsystems Engineering IMTEK, Faculty of Engineering, Albert-Ludwigs-University of Freiburg, Georges-Koehler-Allee 106, D-79110 Freiburg, Germany; Tel.: +49-761-203-7220; Fax: +49-761-203-7222

Received: 14 January 2015 / Accepted: 20 January 2015 / Published: 20 January 2015

Since 2011, an annual award system was instituted to recognize outstanding *Sensors* papers that are related to sensing technologies and applications and meet the aims, scope and high standards of this journal [1–4]. This year, the winners were chosen by the Section Editor-in-Chiefs of *Sensors* from among all the papers published in 2011 to track citations. Reviews and full research articles were considered separately. We gladly announce that the following eight papers were awarded the *Sensors* Best Paper Award in 2015.

Article Award:

1st Prize

Ellen L. Holthoff, Dimitra N. Stratis-Cullum and Mikella E. Hankus

A Nanosensor for TNT Detection Based on Molecularly Imprinted Polymers and Surface Enhanced Raman Scattering

Sensors **2011**, *11*(3), 2700-2714; doi:10.3390/s110302700 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/11/3/2700 Sensors 2015, 15 2229

2nd Prize

Ye Tian, Wenhui Wang, Nan Wu, Xiaotian Zou and Xingwei Wang

Tapered Optical Fiber Sensor for Label-Free Detection of Biomolecules

Sensors **2011**, 11(4), 3780-3790; doi:10.3390/s110403780

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/11/4/3780

3rd Prize

Michele D. Kattke *, Elizabeth J. Gao, Kim E. Sapsford, Larry D. Stephenson and Ashok Kumar

FRET-Based Quantum Dot Immunoassay for Rapid and Sensitive Detection of *Aspergillus amstelodami Sensors* **2011**, *11*(6), 6396-6410; doi:10.3390/s110606396

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/11/6/6396

4th Prize

Jordi Llorens, Emilio Gil, Jordi Llop and Alexandre Escolà

Ultrasonic and LIDAR Sensors for Electronic Canopy Characterization in Vineyards: Advances to Improve Pesticide Application Methods

Sensors 2011, 11(2), 2177-2194; doi:10.3390/s110202177

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/11/2/2177

5th Prize

Constantin Apetrei, Irina Mirela Apetrei, Jose Antonio De Saja and Maria Luz Rodriguez-Mendez

Carbon Paste Electrodes Made from Different Carbonaceous Materials: Application in the Study of Antioxidants

Sensors 2011, 11(2), 1328-1344; doi:10.3390/s110201328

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/11/2/1328

Review Award:

1st Prize

Sookyoung Roh, Taerin Chung and Byoungho Lee

Overview of the Characteristics of Micro- and Nano-Structured Surface Plasmon Resonance Sensors *Sensors* **2011**, *11*(2), 1565-1588; doi:10.3390/s110201565

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/11/2/1565

2nd Prize

Alphus D. Wilson and Manuela Baietto

Advances in Electronic-Nose Technologies Developed for Biomedical Applications

Sensors 2011, 11(1), 1105-1176; doi:10.3390/s110101105

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/11/1/1105

Sensors 2015, 15 2230

3rd Prize

Elizabeth A. Baldwin, Jinhe Bai, Anne Plotto and Sharon Dea

Electronic Noses and Tongues: Applications for the Food and Pharmaceutical Industries

Sensors 2011, 11(5), 4744-4766; doi:10.3390/s110504744

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/1424-8220/11/5/4744

These eight exceptional papers are valuable contributions to *Sensors* and the sensing field. On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board of *Sensors*, we would like to congratulate these eight teams for their excellent work. In recognition of their accomplishment, Drs. Ellen L. Holthoff, Xingwei Wang, Michele D. Kattke, Emilio Gil and Maria Luz Rodriguez-Mendez will receive 1,000 CHF, 800 CHF, 600 CHF, 400 CHF and 200 CHF, respectively, and the privilege of publishing an additional open access format paper of their choice, free of charge, in *Sensors* in 2015. Drs. Byoungho Lee, Alphus D. Wilson and Elizabeth A. Baldwin will be awarded the privilege of publishing an additional research paper free of charge in open access format in *Sensors*.

Prize Awarding Committee

Editor-in-Chief, Section 'Physical Sensors'

Dr. Vittorio M.N. Passaro

Department of Electrical and Information Engineering, Politecnico di Bari, Via E. Orabona n. 4, 70125 Bari, Italy

Tel.: +39-080-5963-850; Fax: +39-080-5963-410

Website: http://dee.poliba.it/photonicsgroup

E-Mail: vittorio.passaro@poliba.it

Editor-in-Chief, Section 'Chemical Sensors'

Prof. Dr. W. Rudolf Seitz

Analytical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, University of New Hampshire, Durham,

NH 03824-3598, USA

Tel.: +1-603-862-2408; Fax: +1-603-862-4278

Website: http://www.unh.edu/chemistry/faculty/seitz w.html

E-Mail: wrs@cisunix.unh.edu

Editor-in-Chief, Section 'Remote Sensors'

Dr. Assefa M. Melesse

Department of Earth and Environment, AHC-5-390, Florida International University,

11200 SW 8th Street, Miami, FL 33199, USA

Tel.: +1-305-348-6518; Fax: +1-305-348-3877

Website: http://faculty.fiu.edu/~melessea/

E-Mail: melessea@fiu.edu

Sensors 2015, 15 2231

Editor-in-Chief, Section 'Biosensors'

Dr. Alexander Star

Department of Chemistry, University of Pittsburgh, 219 Parkman Avenue,

Pittsburgh, PA 15260, USA

Tel.: +1-412-624-6493; Fax: +1-412-624-4027

Website: http://www.pitt.edu/~astar/

E-Mail: astar@pitt.edu

Editor-in-Chief, Section 'Sensor Networks'

Prof. Dr. Leonhard M. Reindl

Albert-Ludwigs-University of Freiburg, Faculty of Engineering, Department of Microsystems Engineering - IMTEK, Laboratory for Electrical Instrumentation, Georges-Koehler-Allee 106, Room 04-014, D-79110 Freiburg, Germany

Tel.: +49-761-203-7220; Fax: +49-761-203-7222

Website: http://www.imtek.de/professuren/emp/mitarbeiter/reindl/vita

E-Mail: reindl@imtek.de

References

- 1. Han, O. Sensors Best Paper Award 2011. Sensors 2011, 11, 1243–1245.
- 2. Han, O. Sensors Best Paper Award 2012. Sensors 2012, 12, 1127–1129.
- 3. Passaro, V.M.; Seitz, W.R.; Melesse, A.M.; Star, A.; Han, O. *Sensors* Best Paper Award 2013. *Sensors* **2013**, *13*, 2113–2116.
- 4. Passaro, V.M.N.; Seitz, W.R.; Melesse, A.M.; Star, A.; Younis, M.F. *Sensors* Best Paper Award 2014. *Sensors* **2014**, *14*, 1898–1901.
- © 2015 by the authors; licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).