Water 2020 Travel Award

Application deadline (expired): 31 January 2020
download description

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that the Water Travel Awards for 2020 were granted to the following three excellent applicants:

Dr. Amen Al-Yaari, assistant professor at Sorbonne University, France; Ms. Qianqian Zhang, Ph.D. candidate at McMaster University, Canada; and Dr. Alex Chee Yu Yeung, researcher at The University of British Columbia, Canada. They will receive 800 Swiss Francs each to attend an international conference in 2020.

Dr. Amen Al-Yaari planned to present his work entitled “Effects of Irrigation on Global Climate Patterns” at The General Assembly 2020 of the European Geosciences Union (EGU).

Ms. Qianqian Zhang planned to present her work entitled “Robust Optimization for Water Quality Management under Uncertainty: A Case Study of the Central Grand River Region in Ontario, Canada” at 2020 Annual Water Resources Conference.

Dr. Alex Chee Yu Yeung planned to present his work entitled “Assessing the Biodegradability of ‘Compostable’ Carrier Bags in the Natural Stream Environment” at ASLO-SFS 2020 Joint Summer Meeting.

However, given the rapidly escalating situation regarding COVID-19, many conferences (including EGU 2020 and ASLO-SFS 2020 Joint Summer Meeting) have been either cancelled or changed to online form worldwide. We wish the best of luck to the award winners to present their works at other conferences on later occasions.

The evaluation process is difficult, as there were many excellent applications for the awards. We would like to thank all the applicants for their participation and all the Award Committee members for their time devoted to evaluation. On behalf of Water, we congratulate the winners for their accomplishments.

Dr. Jean-Luc PROBST
Chair of the Evaluation Committee

Prof. Athanasios Loukas
Prof. Adriano A. Bordalo
Prof. Y. Jun Xu
Prof. Enedir Ghisi
Prof. Steve Pueppke
The members of the Evaluation Committee

Back to TopTop