Metabolites 2020 Young Investigator Award

Nomination deadline (expired): 20 November 2020
download description

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that the winner of the Metabolites 2020 Young Investigator Award is Dr. Rodrigo Ledesma-Amaro.

Dr. Rodrigo Ledesma-Amaro is the Group leader at Imperial College London (Lecturer), Dept. Bioengineering and the Imperial College Centre for Synthetic Biology. He obtained his PhD at the University of Salamanca under the supervision of Prof. Jose Luis Revuelta. During his PhD, Rodrigo was a visiting researcher at Prof. Jens Nielsen’s group at Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden), at Prof. Jean-Marc Nicaud’s lab at INRA (France), and at Prof. Kamisaka’s group at AIST (Japan). After the PhD, he moved to France thanks to an Agreenskills Marie Curie Fellowship and he performed his postdoc in the group of Jean-Marc Nicaud. Most of his postdoctoral research work was done on the oleaginous yeast Yarrowia lipolytica. The research of Dr. Ledesma-Amaro has focused on the understanding and engineering of metabolism in industrial microorganisms and microbial communities with the aim of creating more sustainable bioproduction methods.

As the awardee, Dr. Ledesma-Amaro will receive an honorarium of 2000 CHF and a certificate of award.

We would like to thank all the nominators from various fields of study for their participation and all the Award Committee Members for their evaluation of the abundant excellent nominations.

Metabolites 2020 Young Investigator Award Evaluation Committee

Back to TopTop