Young Investigator Award

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that Forests is now inviting nominations for the Forests 2023 Early Career Investigator Award. This prize will be given to two young investigators in recognition of their excellence in the field of forest science. All nominations will be assessed by an Award Evaluation Committee led by the Editors-in-Chief, Prof. Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng and Prof. Dr. Giacomo Alessandro Gerosa.

The Prize
– CHF 1000;
– Option to publish one paper free of charge in Forests after peer review before the end of 31 December 2025;
– An electronic certificate.

Eligibility and Requirements
– Must have received a PhD degree on or after 1 January 2019;
– Must have produced ground-breaking research and made a significant;
– Contribution to the advancement of forest science;
– Candidates must be nominated by senior scientists.

List of Documents for Nomination
– Detailed curriculum vitae, including an updated publication list and a list of the researcher’s own research grants;
– Scanned copy of doctorate certificate;
– At least one signed nomination letter from two established senior scientists, in which one nominator should write the nomination letter, and the other one can be identified with their email address;
– Statement of career interruption (if applicable).

– Nomination deadline: 30 June 2024
– Winners announcement: 31 August 2024

How to Submit Nominations?
– The nominations must be submitted online.

Ms. Hillary Lv
Marketing Specialist
Email: [email protected]

Kind regards,
Forests Editorial Office

Forests 2023 Young Investigator Award
Nomination deadline: 30 June 2024
Winner announcement: 31 August 2024
Past Winners


Mianhai Zheng
South China Botanical Garden, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Juergen Knauer
Western Sydney University

Award Committee

Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng Chairman
University of Auckland
Dr. Emil Engelund Thybring
University of Copenhagen
Dr. Sabrina Palanti
Dr. Adriano Mazziotta
Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)


Oksana Pelyukh
Ukrainian National Forestry University, Lviv, Ukraine
Saverio Francini
Università degli Studi di Firenze

Award Committee

Dr. Timothy A. Martin Chairman
University of Florida
Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng
University of Auckland
Dr. Seng Hua Lee
Universiti Teknologi MARA
Prof. Dr. Fred O. Asiegbu
Prof. Angela Lo Monaco
Università della Tuscia
Dr. J Julio Camarero
Pyrenean Institute of Ecology (IPE)-CSIC


Rachael Nolan
Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment, Western Sydney University
Adriane Esquivel Muelbert
University of Birmingham BIFoR

Award Committee

Dr. Timothy A. Martin Chairman
University of Florida
Dr. Luis Diaz-Balteiro
Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng
University of Auckland
Back to TopTop