Best PhD Thesis Award

Launched in 2021, the Forests Best PhD Thesis Award is presented annually to recognize young scholars who are judged to have completed the most outstanding PhD thesis in the field of forests and forest ecology and encourage them to continue their outstanding work and make further contributions to their field. Applications for this award are open from April to May each year, with the winners announced in July. 

The Prize
– Bonus (CHF 500);
– A certificate;
– A voucher to cover applicable article processing charges (valid for one year). 

Number of Winners: 2

Forests 2023 Best PhD Thesis Award
Winner announcement: 31 July 2024

Eligibility and Requirements

  • The candidate must be a PhD student or recently qualified PhD graduate who has produced a highly anticipated thesis with great academic potential;
  • The PhD thesis must be the candidate’s original work;
  • The PhD thesis must be defended in 2023.

List of Documents for Application

  • An executive summary of the PhD thesis in English of around 3000 words in length;
  • A letter from the candidate’s PhD supervisor recommending the candidate for consideration for this award;
  • The candidate’s CV, including a list of publications connected with the thesis;
  • An electronic copy of the candidate’s PhD thesis;
  • A scanned copy of the candidate’s PhD diploma (or a certificate of studying at a school or research institute as a PhD student going to graduate or participate in graduation thesis defenses).
Past Winners


Eun-Suk Jang
Jeonbuk National University
Dr. Elena Larysch
Chair of Forest Growth and Dendroecology, University of Freiburg, Tennenbacher Str. 4, 79106 Freiburg, Germany

Award Committee

Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng Chairman
University of Auckland
Prof. XingKai XU
State Key Laboratory of Atmospheric Boundary Layer Physics and Atmospheric Chemistry, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Dr. Carmen-Alice Teacă
Prof. Dr. Zeki Candan
Istanbul University


Tuomas Yrttimaa
School of Forest Sciences, University of Eastern Finland
Pipiet Larasatie
Oregon State University

Award Committee

Dr. Timothy A. Martin Chairman
University of Florida
Dr. Cate Macinnis-Ng
University of Auckland
Dr. Victor Resco de Dios
Prof. Young-Seuk Park
Kyung Hee University
Back to TopTop