Viruses 2020 Travel Award

Application deadline (expired): 20 November 2019
download description

Dear Colleagues,

As Editor-in-Chief of Viruses, I am pleased to announce the winners of the Viruses Travel Awards for 2020: Dr. Gary Wang, post-doctoral researcher at the Columbia University Medical Center, USA, and Evangelia-Georgia Kostaki, PhD student at the First Department of Medicine, Laiko General Hospital, Medical School, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece. Dr. Wang’s research has revealed that Yin Yang 1 (YY1), a member of the GLI-Krüppel class of DNA and RNA binding transcription factors, potently transactivates gene expression from the HTLV-1 LTR by acting via RNA, rather than DNA, binding. Ms Kostaki’s research relates to the molecular epidemiology of HIV-1 infection and its applications to public health.

Each travel award provides 800 Swiss Francs to attend a virology conference in 2020.

Congratulations to the winners of this very competitive travel award.

Dr. Eric O. Freed
Director, HIV Dynamics and Replication Program
Center for Cancer Research
National Cancer Institute
Frederick, MD, USA

Viruses (ISSN 1999-4915) Impact Factor is 3.811 (2018 Journal Citation Reports®).

Please find more information on Viruses at

The competition for 2021 Viruses Young Investigator Prize, and the Travel Awards will be opened in early June. Please check for more information closer to this date.

Back to TopTop