Journal Browser

Journal Browser

Journal History

2009 The inaugural issue was released. Sustainability was published as a quarterly journal.
2010 Sustainability adopted a monthly publication schedule.

Sustainability was indexed in Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) and Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI).

Sustainability established the following sections:
-Sustainable Use of the Environment and Resources;
-Social Aspects of Sustainability;
-Economic, Business and Management Aspects of Sustainability;
-Sustainable Engineering and Science;
-Energy Sustainability;
-Sustainable Urban and Rural Development;
-Sustainable Agriculture, Food, and Wildlife;
-Sustainability Education and Approaches;
-Sustainability of Culture and Heritage;
-Environmental Sustainability and Applications.


Sustainability received its Impact Factor (2014) of 0.942.

Sustainability established the following section:
-Sustainable Chemistry.

2016 Sustainability received its Impact Factor (2015) of 1.343.

Sustainability received its Impact Factor (2016) of 1.789.

Sustainability became an affiliated journal of the Society for Urban Ecology (SURE).

Sustainability announced the 2017 Outstanding Reviewer Award.

Sustainability holded 6th World Sustainability Forum in Cape Town, South Africa.

Sustainability attended and sponsored Sardinia Symposium 2017.


Sustainability received its Impact Factor (2017) of 2.075.

Sustainability established the following sections:
-Sustainable Transportation;
-Sustainability in Geographic Science.

Sustainability announced the 2019 Travel Award.

Sustainability sponsored the 7th World Sustainability Forum in Beijing, China.

Sustainability published its 10,000th paper.

Sustainability announced the 2018 Young Investigator Award.

Sustainability attended and sponsored BES Annual Meeting 2018.


Sustainability received its Impact Factor (2018) of 2.592.

Sustainability adopted a semimonthly publication schedule.

Sustainability announced the 2019 Best Paper Award.

The year 2019 marked the 10th Anniversary of Sustainability.

The Canadian Urban Transit Research & Innovation Consortium (CUTRIC) became affiliated to Sustainability.

Sustainability established the following section:
-Psychology of Sustainability and Sustainable Development.


Sustainability received its Impact Factor (2019) of 2.576.

Sustainability established the following sections:
-Hazards and Sustainability;
-Sustainability, Biodiversity and Conservation;
-Climate Change;
-Sustainable Materials;
-Health and Sustainability;
-Sustainable Food;
-Resources and Sustainable Utilization;
-Sustainable Management.

The International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction (CIB) became affiliated to Sustainability.


Sustainability received its Impact Factor (2020) of 3.251.

Sustainability established the following sections:
-Green Building;
-Pollution Prevention, Mitigation and Sustainability;
-Soil Conservation and Sustainability;
-Sustainable Forestry;
-Sustainable Oceans;
-Sustainable Water Management;
-Waste and Recycling;
-Bioeconomy of Sustainability.


Sustainability received its Impact Factor (2021) of 3.889.

Sustainability received its CiteScore (2022) of 5.0.


Sustainability established the following sections:
-Sustainable Products and Services;
-Development Goals towards Sustainability.


2009–present Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Marc A. Rosen

Section Editor-in-Chief

2012–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Giuseppe Ioppolo for the section on Economic, Business, and Management Aspects of Sustainability
2013–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Tan Yigitcanlar for the section on Sustainable Urban and Rural Development
2014–2019 Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Helmut Haberl for the section on Social Ecology and Sustainability
2014–2023 Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Vincenzo Torretta for the section on Sustainable Use of the Environment and Resources
2015–2023 Section Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Derek J. McPhee for the section on Sustainable Chemistry
2015–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Iain J. Gordon for the section on Sustainability, Biodiversity and Conservation
2017–2019 Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Kerry Shephard for the section on Sustainable Education and Approaches
2017–2022 Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Manfred Max Bergman for the section on Sustainability of Culture and Heritage
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Tomonobu Senjyu for the section on Energy Sustainability
2019–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Annamaria Di Fabio for the section on Psychology of Sustainability and Sustainable Development Section
2021–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Paolo S. Calabrò for the section on Waste and Recycling
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Prof. Dr. Idiano D’Adamo for the section on Bioeconomy of Sustainability
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Prof. Dr. Steve W. Lyon for the section on Sustainable Water Management
2022–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Lei Zhang for the section on Sustainable Transportation
Section Editor-in-Chief:
 Prof. Dr. Chen-Tung Arthur Chen for the section on Sustainable Oceans
Section Editor-in-Chief:
Prof. Dr. Alan Randall for the section on Resources and Sustainable Utilization
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Mark A. Bonn for the section on Tourism, Culture, and Heritage
Section Editor-in-Chief: 
Prof. Dr. Francesco Asdrubali for the section on Green Building
Section Editor-in-Chief: 
Prof. Dr. Erfu Dai for the section on Sustainability in Geographic Science
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Manuel Pedro Rodríguez Bolívar for the section on Sustainable Management
Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Lin Lu for the section on Energy Sustainability
2023–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Idiano D'Adamo for the section on Development Goals towards Sustainability
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Prof. Dr. Angelo Albini for the section on Sustainable Chemical Engineering and Technology
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Prof. Dr. Maria De Nobili for the section on Soil Conservation and Sustainability
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Prof. Dr. José Ignacio Alvarez for the section on Sustainable Materials
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Dr. Ronald C. Estoque for the section on Sustainable Forestry
Section Editor-in-Chief
: Prof. Dr. Jaspreet Singh for the section on Sustainable Food
Section Editor-in-Chief: 
Prof. Dr. David González-Gómez for the section on Sustainable Education and Approaches
2024–present Section Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Irene Petrosillo for the section on Environmental Sustainability and Applications
Back to TopTop