Viruses 2017 Young Investigator Award

Nomination deadline (expired): 31 October 2016
download description

Dear Colleagues,

As Editor-in-Chief of Viruses, I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Viruses Young Investigator in Virology Prize and the two Viruses Travel Awards:

The 2017 Viruses Young Investigator in Virology Prize has been awarded to Dr. Andrew B. Ward, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA. Dr. Ward’s research combines electron microscopy and x-ray crystallography with biophysical approaches and computational analyses to elucidate the structure of viral membrane proteins. This work has led to significant advances in our understanding of the structure and function of the HIV-1, Ebola, and coronavirus glycoproteins, and mechanisms of antibody-mediated neutralization.

Viruses Travel Awards were granted to Mr. Gabriel J. Starrett, Ph.D. student at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, MN, USA and Dr. Valerie Cortez, postdoctoral research associate at the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, TN, USA.

We would like to thank the Selection Committee members Drs. Craig Cameron, Karyn Johnson, Margaret C. Kielian, Rob Lavigne and Ian M. Mackay for their evaluation of candidates

Dr Eric O. Freed

Back to TopTop