Next Article in Journal
Evaluation of the Supply-Side Efficiency of China’s Real Estate Market: A Data Envelopment Analysis
Next Article in Special Issue
Frequency Distribution Model of Wind Speed Based on the Exponential Polynomial for Wind Farms
Previous Article in Journal
Multidisciplinary Optimization of Life-Cycle Energy and Cost Using a BIM-Based Master Model
Previous Article in Special Issue
An Optimal Load Disaggregation Method Based on Power Consumption Pattern for Low Sampling Data
Open AccessArticle
Peer-Review Record

Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones

Sustainability 2019, 11(1), 287; https://doi.org/10.3390/su11010287
Reviewer 1: Anonymous
Reviewer 2: Anonymous
Reviewer 3: Anonymous
Sustainability 2019, 11(1), 287; https://doi.org/10.3390/su11010287
Received: 28 October 2018 / Revised: 18 December 2018 / Accepted: 26 December 2018 / Published: 8 January 2019
(This article belongs to the collection Power System and Sustainability)

Round 1

Reviewer 1 Report



In overall, the manuscript is written at the contentable level but does not provide in-depth novel contributions towards the electrochromic glazing for optimal control in three different climate zones. It can be seen such evaluation of building energy and daylighting performance analysis with electrochromic glazings are published already and have been published since 20 years. Repetition of the research work is not research article. I believe this paper specifically contributes towards the optimal control in three different climate zones (Russia, South Korea and Saudi Arabia). My questions and comments are as follows and I will appreciate the authors to address them and elaborate their analysis at high-quality.

(a) Why did you choose Saudi Arabia, South Korea and Russia as three climate zones. Why not to choose the western climate?

 

(b)Abstract: on line 15, a correction to a word consumption. Almost half of the draft of Abstract talks about the importance of electrochromic glazing which is not good because in the abstract you are just about to introduce the topic in one sentence, then the significance of the research problem that you are addressing and then what are the novel contributions you are presenting in this paper. How those contributions and implicate and contribute to the novel problem that you supposed to mention in the abstract and what are the limitations of this study and future work recommendations. You need to make sure you are concise and succinct. For example your sentence in the abstract I copy below doesn’t implicate novelty but a repetition of the already published research work.

‘’this study attempted to develop 20 an optimal control method for electrochromic glazing. Toward this goal, the solar radiation 21 incident on vertical surfaces and outdoor temperature conditions were controlled in three regions 22 with different climatic characteristics, and the annual cooling, heating, and lighting loads, 23 discomfort glare, and interior illumination were analyzed’’

 (c) Are your results validated theoretically or experimentally?

 

(d)  All results are based on the simulation software Energy Plus. It is significantly important to validate your results with previously published papers on electrochromic glazing.

 

(e) This is a major correction: You need to provide the detailed mathematical modelling approach behind the simulation model; otherwise, nowadays it is easier to do simulation on Energy Plus but the useful/research part is to demonstrate what is behind your simulated results, what mathematical equations. Analytical Model doesn’t have sufficient dimensional details. Authors have also not provided the reasons behind their selection of the dimensions and boundary conditions for example 700 lux was taken as a baseline of interior luminence. Why did you choose that and what standard regulations were you following. Similarly there are a number of questions I could ask where reasoning is missing.

Exterior wall insulation U value 0.2 W-2K-1 having 155 t insulation? What 155 t means.

You need to elaborate and provide in-depth details of Table 3, at the moment it is not sufficient.

(f) The whole manuscript is not well written and it require extensive revision, it is important the authors must do a number of peer reviews before they submit in this journal or anywhere. At the moment, I am afraid it does require a lot of corrections.

 

(g) Table 4, again it is so basic and there needs to be dynamic representation of the climate temperatures instead of just detailing the maximum and minimum temperatures. I am sure Energy Plus software has a lot of functions but it looks like the climate data represented doesn’t show the full picture of the use of electrochromic glazing. There are so many papers who have already published results with in-depth climate/dynamic temperatures.

 

(h) Results and discussion section, I could see hundreds of errors. If I were to start pointing one by one then it would not be good practice. Authors should have spent significant time in improving the results and discussions quality. A simple example is Heating Load has a unit of kW or Watts but Heating Energy has a unit of kWh or Watthour. Authors have written the unit in their entire manuscript as a heating load in kWh. Conclusions are not novel and they are too descriptive. Although I like descriptive lengthy conclusions as long as they implicate the outcome of the results and future word as well.

 

(i) No experimental validation meaning insufficient research work unless mathematically validated and demonstrated with all the mathematical model equations.

 

I am afraid to say that authors really need to work a lot to make this manuscript at the publication stage, at the moment I am afraid it is not sufficient for the publication.

Author Response

Dr. Hilaria Wang

Editor-in-Chief

Sustainability

Manuscript ID: sustainability-387904

Title: Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones

 

Dear Dr. Hilaria Wang :

 

We are pleased to have submitted our paper " Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones "

Thank you very much for prompt review of the paper.

We tried our best to follow the instructions of the reviewer. If there still remains anything unclear, please contact me by e-mail.

We do hope that our paper " Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones " will be accepted soon and published in the Sustainability.

 

Best wishes for the prosperous future of Sustainability.

With best regards.

 

Minsu Jang

Building Envelope Technology Center, Energy & Environment Business Division, Korea Conformity Laboratories (KCL), 595-10, Pyengsin 1-ro, Daesan-eup, Seosan-si 31900, Chungnam, Korea

Tel : 82-10-9401-4648, Fax: 82-41-419-3249

e-mail : [email protected]

Seungjun Roh

School of Architecture & Architectural Engineering, Hanyang University, 55 Hanyangdaehak-ro, Sangrok-gu, Ansan-si 15588, Gyeonggi-do, Korea

Tel :82-10-6350-5426

e-mail : [email protected]

Author Response File: Author Response.docx

Reviewer 2 Report

Some revisions are recommended

-          row 15 – „c onsumption“ – it should be „consumption“

-          row 222 - W/m2 – it should be corrected as W/m2

-       Table 3 - Glazing U-value unit should be completed

-       Table 4 - units of Temperature and Direct solar radiation should be ciompleted

-       Table 13 - "Lux 150− 1500 lx" should be corrected as "Percentage of Lux 150− 1500 lx"

Author Response

Dr. Hilaria Wang

Editor-in-Chief

Sustainability

Manuscript ID: sustainability-387904

Title: Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones

 

Dear Dr. Hilaria Wang :

 

We are pleased to have submitted our paper " Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones "

Thank you very much for prompt review of the paper.

We tried our best to follow the instructions of the reviewer. If there still remains anything unclear, please contact me by e-mail.

We do hope that our paper " Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones " will be accepted soon and published in the Sustainability.

 

Best wishes for the prosperous future of Sustainability.

With best regards.

 

Minsu Jang

Building Envelope Technology Center, Energy & Environment Business Division, Korea Conformity Laboratories (KCL), 595-10, Pyengsin 1-ro, Daesan-eup, Seosan-si 31900, Chungnam, Korea

Tel : 82-10-9401-4648, Fax: 82-41-419-3249

e-mail : [email protected]

Seungjun Roh

School of Architecture & Architectural Engineering, Hanyang University, 55 Hanyangdaehak-ro, Sangrok-gu, Ansan-si 15588, Gyeonggi-do, Korea

Tel :82-10-6350-5426

e-mail : [email protected]

Author Response File: Author Response.docx

Reviewer 3 Report

The paper is innovative and addresses an important theme. Is interesting the comparison of 3 different climate zone, so different each other.

More cure should be used in the description of the hypothesis and the methodology.

Author Response

Dr. Hilaria Wang

Editor-in-Chief

Sustainability

Manuscript ID: sustainability-387904

Title: Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones

 

Dear Dr. Hilaria Wang :

 

We are pleased to have submitted our paper " Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones "

Thank you very much for prompt review of the paper.

We tried our best to follow the instructions of the reviewer. If there still remains anything unclear, please contact me by e-mail.

We do hope that our paper " Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones " will be accepted soon and published in the Sustainability.

 

Best wishes for the prosperous future of Sustainability.

With best regards.

 

Minsu Jang

Building Envelope Technology Center, Energy & Environment Business Division, Korea Conformity Laboratories (KCL), 595-10, Pyengsin 1-ro, Daesan-eup, Seosan-si 31900, Chungnam, Korea

Tel : 82-10-9401-4648, Fax: 82-41-419-3249

e-mail : [email protected]

Seungjun Roh

School of Architecture & Architectural Engineering, Hanyang University, 55 Hanyangdaehak-ro, Sangrok-gu, Ansan-si 15588, Gyeonggi-do, Korea

Tel :82-10-6350-5426

e-mail : [email protected]

Author Response File: Author Response.docx

Round 2

Reviewer 1 Report

It is evident that the work require significant validation of the theoretical results for future and Energy Plus is not the best software.  

Author Response

Dr. Hilaria Wang

Editor-in-Chief

Sustainability

Manuscript ID: sustainability-387904

Title: Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones

 

Dear Dr. Hilaria Wang :

 

We are pleased to have submitted our paper " Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones "

Thank you very much for prompt review of the paper.

We tried our best to follow the instructions of the reviewer. If there still remains anything unclear, please contact me by e-mail.

We do hope that our paper " Evaluation of Building Energy and Daylight Performance of Electrochromic Glazing for Optimal Control in Three Different Climate Zones " will be accepted soon and published in the Sustainability.

 

Best wishes for the prosperous future of Sustainability.

With best regards.

 

Minsu Jang

Building Envelope Technology Center, Energy & Environment Business Division, Korea Conformity Laboratories (KCL), 595-10, Pyengsin 1-ro, Daesan-eup, Seosan-si 31900, Chungnam, Korea

Tel : 82-10-9401-4648, Fax: 82-41-419-3249

e-mail : [email protected]

Seungjun Roh

School of Architecture & Architectural Engineering, Hanyang University, 55 Hanyangdaehak-ro, Sangrok-gu, Ansan-si 15588, Gyeonggi-do, Korea

Tel :82-10-6350-5426

e-mail : [email protected]

Author Response File: Author Response.pdf

Back to TopTop