Next Article in Journal
Influence of Magnetic Microparticles Isolation on Adenine Homonucleotides Structure
Previous Article in Journal
Influence of Rapid Freeze-Thaw Cycling on the Mechanical Properties of Sustainable Strain-Hardening Cement Composite (2SHCC)

Materials 2014, 7(2), 1441-1443;

Materials Best Paper Award 2014
Department of Biomedical Engineering, Faculty of Medicine/Faculty of Dentistry, Duff Medical Science Building, McGill University, Room 313, 3775 University Street, Montreal, QC, H3A 2B4, Canada
Received: 14 February 2014; in revised form: 14 February 2014 / Accepted: 15 February 2014 / Published: 24 February 2014

Materials instituted an annual award in order to acknowledge outstanding papers in the area of materials science and engineering published in Materials.

Nominations were selected by the Section Editor-in-Chiefs of Materials from all papers published in 2010. The awards are issued to reviews and articles respectively. We are pleased to announce the second “Materials Best Paper Award” for 2014 for which the following five papers were chosen:

Article Award:

1st Prize

Andreas Klein, Christoph Körber, André Wachau, Frank Säuberlich, Yvonne Gassenbauer, Steven P. Harvey, Diana E. Proffit and Thomas O. Mason

Transparent Conducting Oxides for Photovoltaics: Manipulation of Fermi Level, Work Function and Energy Band Alignment

Materials 2010, 3(11), 4892-4914; doi:10.3390/ma3114892

Available online:

2nd Prize

Aneta Slodczyk and Philippe Colomban

Probing the Nanodomain Origin and Phase Transition Mechanisms in (Un)Poled PMN-PT Single Crystals and Textured Ceramics

Materials 2010, 3(12), 5007-5028; doi:10.3390/ma3125007

Available online:

3rd Prize

Osama Shekhah

Layer-by-Layer Method for the Synthesis and Growth of Surface Mounted Metal-Organic Frameworks (SURMOFs)

Materials 2010, 3(2), 1302-1315; doi:10.3390/ma3021302

Available online:

Review Award:

1st Prize

Lutz-Christian Gerhardt and Aldo R. Boccaccini

Bioactive Glass and Glass-Ceramic Scaffolds for Bone Tissue Engineering

Materials 2010, 3(7), 3867-3910; doi:10.3390/ma3073867

Available online:

2nd Prize

Koen Van den Eeckhout, Philippe F. Smet and Dirk Poelman

Persistent Luminescence in Eu2+-Doped Compounds: A Review

Materials 2010, 3(4), 2536-2566; doi:10.3390/ma3042536

Available online:

We believe that these five exceptional papers are valuable contributions to Materials and the scientific research area. On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board of Materials, we would like to congratulate these five teams for their excellent work. In recognition of their accomplishment, for the article group, Dr. Andreas Klein, Dr. Philippe Colomban and Dr. Osama Shekhah will receive prizes of 600 CHF, 400 CHF and 200 CHF, respectively, and the privilege of publishing an additional paper free of charge in open access format in Materials, after the usual peer-review procedure. For the review group, Dr. Aldo R. Boccaccini and Dr. Koen Van den Eeckhout will receive the privilege of publishing a research article free of charge in Materials following the peer-review process.

Prize Awarding Committee

Editor-in-Chief, Section ‘Biomaterials’

Prof. Dr. Aldo R. Boccaccini

Institute of Biomaterials, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, 91058 Erlangen, Germany, E-Mail: [email protected]

Editor-in-Chief, Section ‘Materials for Energy Applications’

Prof. Dr. Thomas Lippert

Materials Group, Research Department General Energy, Paul Scherrer Institut, CH-5232 Villigen, Switzerland, E-Mail: [email protected]

Editor-in-Chief, Section ‘Structure Analysis and Characterization’

Prof. Dr. Jung Ho Je

Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Pohang University of Science and Technology, San 31 Hyojadong, Pohang, 790-784, Korea, E-Mail: [email protected]

Editor-in-Chief, Section ‘Porous Materials’

Prof. Dr. Rafael Luque

Departamento de Quimica Organica, Universidad de Cordoba, Campus de Rabanales, Edificio C-3 (Marie Curie-Anexo), Carretera Nacional IV-A, Km. 396, 14014–Cordoba, Spain, E-Mail: [email protected]

Note Added by the Publisher on 1 April 2014

Back to TopTop