E-Mail Alert

Add your e-mail address to receive forthcoming issues of this journal:

Journal Browser

Journal Browser

About Remote Sensing

2009 Remote Sensing published 1st volume with over 1000 pages, as
quarterly journal, with founding Editor-in-Chief, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wagner.
2010 The journal changed to a monthly publication schedule.

The journal was covered by Scopus and Compendex in May 2011.
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wagner resigned as Editor-in-Chief in September 2011.
Prof. Dr. Prasad Thenkabail has been acting as Editor-in-Chief since September 2011.

2012 Remote Sensing was accepted for coverage in the Web of Science, indexed in SCIE, JCR, etc.


The Best Paper Award 2013 was released in early 2013.
In July 2013, the first impact factor of Remote Sensing was released; it was 2.101.
Starting in November of 2013, seven Associate Editors have been assigned by the EiC of Remote Sensing.


The impact factor for 2013 was 2.62.

Remote Sensing published over 10,000 pages.


The impact factor for 2014 was 3.180.

The 1st International Electronic Conference on Remote Sensing (ECRS-1) was held.


The impact factor for 2015 was 3.036; the rank was 5/28.

Five Associate Editors were promoted to Senior Associate Editors.

Remote Sensing published its 3000th paper in November.

The Remote Sensing Travel Award was announced.


The impact factor for 2016 was 3.244; the rank was 7/28.

The journal was divided into seven topical sections: Atmosphere Remote Sensing, Remote Sensing in Geology, Geomorphology and Hydrology, Ocean Remote Sensing, Forest Remote Sensing, Remote Sensing in Agriculture and Vegetation, Remote Sensing Image Processing and Land Surface Fluxes.

The Remote Sensing Best Reviewer Award was announced.

The Remote Sensing Best Guest Editor Award was announced.


2009 - 2 September 2011 Founding Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wagner
18 September 2011 Prof. Dr. Prasad Thenkabail

Section Editor-in-Chief Dr. Richard Müller for Section "Atmosphere Remote Sensing"

Section Editor-in-Chief Dr. Richard Gloaguen for Section "Remote Sensing in Geology, Geomorphology and Hydrology"

Section Editor-in-Chief Dr. Xiaofeng Li for Section "Ocean Remote Sensing"

Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Randolph H. Wynne for Section "Forest Remote Sensing"

Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Clement Atzberger for Section "Remote Sensing in Agriculture and Vegetation"

Section Editor-in-Chief Dr. Qi Wang for Section "Remote Sensing Image Processing"

Section Editor-in-Chief Prof. Dr. Alfredo R. Huete for Section “Land Surface Fluxes”

Back to Top