Next Article in Journal
RGD-Functionalization of Poly(2-oxazoline)-Based Networks for Enhanced Adhesion to Cancer Cells
Previous Article in Journal
Biocompatibility of Poly(ester amide) (PEA) Microfibrils in Ocular Tissues
Article Menu

Export Article

Polymers 2014, 6(1), 261-263; doi:10.3390/polym6010261

Polymers Best Paper Award 2014
Alexander Böker
DWI – Leibniz-Institut für Interaktive Materialien, Lehrstuhl für Makromolekulare Materialien und Oberflächen, RWTH Aachen University, Forckenbeckstrasse 50, D-52056 Aachen, Germany
Received: 14 January 2014 / Accepted: 16 January 2014 / Published: 21 January 2014

Polymers is instituting an annual award to recognize outstanding papers in the area of polymer science published in Polymers.

We are pleased to announce the first “Polymers Best Paper Award” for 2014. Nominations were selected by the Editor-in-Chief and Editorial Board members of Polymers from all papers published in 2010. The awards are issued to reviews and articles respectively. We are pleased to announce that the following three papers were chosen:

Article Award:

1st Prize

Yuk-Hong Ting, Chi-Chun Liu, Sang-Min Park, Hongquan Jiang, Paul F. Nealey and Amy E. Wendt

Surface Roughening of Polystyrene and Poly(methyl methacrylate) in Ar/O2 Plasma Etching

Polymers 2010, 2(4), 649-663; doi:10.3390/polym2040649

Available online:

2nd Prize

Mariano Pracella, Md. Minhaz-Ul Haque and Vera Alvarez

Functionalization, Compatibilization and Properties of Polyolefin Composites with Natural Fibers

Polymers 2010, 2(4), 554-574; doi:10.3390/polym2040554

Available online:

Review Award:

Gilberto Siqueira, Julien Bras and Alain Dufresne

Cellulosic Bionanocomposites: A Review of Preparation, Properties and Applications

Polymers 2010, 2(4), 728-765; doi:10.3390/polym2040728

Available online:

Fortunately, the Prize Awarding Committee could choose from a large number of high quality publications, so that the selection was a difficult task. Finally, we have identified contributions which represent basic as well as application-oriented research. Moreover, the review which was awarded has already made significant impact in the respective field and is a nice example of the international recognition of open access publishing.

On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board of Polymers, I would like to congratulate these three teams on their excellent work. In recognition of their accomplishment, for the awarded articles, Dr. Amy Wendt and Dr. Mariano Pracella will receive prizes of 600 CHF and 400 CHF, respectively, and the opportunity to publish an additional paper free of charge in open access format in Polymers, after the usual peer-review procedure. For his review, Dr. Alain Dufresne will be given the opportunity to publish a research article free of charge in Polymers after the usual peer-review process.

Prize Awarding Committee

  • Editor-in-Chief

    • Prof. Dr. Alexander Böker

    • DWI – Leibniz-Institut für Interaktive Materialien, Lehrstuhl für Makromolekulare Materialien und Oberflächen, RWTH Aachen University, Forckenbeckstrasse 50, D-52056 Aachen, Germany

    • E-Mail:

  • Editorial Board Members

    • Prof. Dr. Martin Kröger

    • Polymer Physics, Department of Materials, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, ETH Zurich, Wolfgang-Pauli-Str. 10, CH-8093 Zurich, Switzerland

    • E-Mail:

    • Prof. Dr. Katja Loos

    • Department of Polymer Chemistry, Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, University of Groningen, Nijenborgh 4, 9747 AG Groningen, The Netherlands

    • E-Mail:

    • Prof. Dr. George R. Newkome

    • Departments of Polymer Science & Chemistry, The University of Akron, Akron, OH 44325-4717, USA

    • E-Mail:

    • Prof. Dr. Ben Zhong Tang

    • Department of Chemsitry, The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Clear Water Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China

    • E-Mail:

    • Prof. Dr. Philipp Vana

    • Makromolekulare Chemie, Institut für Physikalische Chemie, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Tammannstraße 6, D-37077 Göttingen, Germany

    • E-Mail:

    • Dr. Wei Min Huang

    • School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, 50 Nanyang Avenue, 639798, Singapore

    • E-Mail:

Polymers EISSN 2073-4360 Published by MDPI AG, Basel, Switzerland RSS E-Mail Table of Contents Alert
Back to Top