Best PhD Thesis Award

Dear Colleagues,

The journal Plants is inviting applications for the 2023 Best PhD Thesis Award. This prize will be awarded to three PhD students or recently qualified PhDs who have produced highly anticipated theses with great academic potential. The applications will be assessed by an evaluation committee led by the Editor-in-Chief, Prof. Dr. Dilantha Fernando.

Eligibility and Requirements:
– The candidate must be a PhD student or recently qualified PhD who has produced a highly anticipated thesis with great academic potential;
– The PhD thesis must be their original work;
– The PhD thesis must be defended in 2023.

Required Application Documents:
– An executive summary of the PhD thesis in English of around 3000 words;
– A letter from the PhD supervisor recommending the candidate for consideration for this award;
– The candidate’s CV, including a list of publications connected with the thesis;
– An electronic copy of the PhD thesis;
– A scanned copy of the PhD diploma (or certificate of studying at a school or research institute as a PhD student going to graduate or participate in graduation thesis defenses).

Selection Criteria:
– Quality of resume and publications;
– Relevance of the candidate and research description;
– Novelty of the candidate’s PhD thesis;
– Strength of the recommendation letter;
– Anticipated academic potential;
– Originality and impact of the research.

– Bonus (CHF 500);
– An electronic certificate;
– Offer to publish one paper free of charge in Plants after peer review before the end of 2024.

The application deadline is 31 January 2024. The winners will be announced on the Plants website by the end of April 2024.

Kind regards,
Plants Editorial Office

Plants 2023 Best PhD Thesis Award
Past Winners


Anton Shiriaev
Sant'Anna School of Advanced Studies
Arshad Jalal
Sao Paulo State University, Ilha Solteira, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Cristiano Soares
Faculty of Sciences of University of Porto

Award Committee

Prof. Dilantha Fernando Chairman
University of Manitoba
Dr. András Viczián
Institute of Plant Biology, Biological Research Centre
Dr. Fermín Morales
Prof. Pablo García-Murillo
Dr. Calvin Qualset
Prof. Dr. Genxing Pan
Back to TopTop