Conferences

23 October 2020, Online
Biomolecules Webinar | Recent advances on lysosomal storage disorders pathogenesis: an emerging Gaucher disease paradigm shift

Gaucher disease is the most common lysosomal storage disorder affecting worldwide population and implicating a huge economic burden to the health-care system. Despite the advent of enzyme replacement therapies and the most recent substrate reduction therapy, many phenotypical aspects of the disease, including skeletal abnormalities and the central nervous system impairment, cannot be fully treated and remain an unsolved clinical issue.

Recent advances in basic research of Gaucher disease pathogenesis have challenged the classical paradigm of lysosomal storage and collected new evidences that the loss of glucocerebrosidase activity may affect several key cellular pathways (ER stress, autophagy, signaling transduction, inflammasome). These novel pathways require more extensive research efforts but offer an alternative window of therapeutic strategies.

In this webinar we will try to summarize these discoveries and open a fruitful discussion on growing research areas that could pave the way for the development of alternative approaches for the Gaucher disease.

This Webinar relates to the Special Issue Lysosomal Storage Disorders: Molecular Basis and Therapeutic Approaches.

The webinar will include the following experts:

  • Dr. Enrico Moro
  • Dr. Ricardo A. Feldman
  • Dr. Andrea Dardis

When? 23 October 2020 at 3.00pm (CEST) | 9.00am (EDT) | 9.00pm (CST Asia)

https://biomolecules-4.sciforum.net/

Back to TopTop