



Meeting Report

Hot Quarks 2018—Workshop for Young Scientists on the Physics of Ultrarelativistic Nucleus–Nucleus Collisions, Texel, The Netherlands, 7–14 September 2018

Bjoern Schenke, for the Hot Quarks Organizers

Physics Department, Brookhaven National Lab, Building 510A, Upton, NY 11973, USA; bschenke@quark.phy.bnl.gov

Published: 22 April 2019

The 8th edition of the Workshop for Young Scientists on the Physics of Ultrarelativistic Nucleus–Nucleus Collisions (Hot Quarks 2018) was held on Texel Island in the Netherlands, 7–14 September, 2018. The aim of this workshop is to enhance the direct exchange of scientific information among the younger members of the Relativistic Heavy Ion community, from both experimental and theoretical backgrounds. The meeting gathered more than 60 participants in the first years of their scientific careers. The present issue contains the proceedings of this workshop.

The workshop offered a unique opportunity for early career scientists to present and discuss their work. Recent experimental results from both CERN's Large Hadron Collider (LHC) and Brookhaven's Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC) were presented, and new theoretical developments were discussed. As usual for this workshop series, a lot of time was devoted to question-and-answer sessions, including the opportunity to ask the speakers of the day anonymous written questions. Once again, we are happy to report that the conference achieved its goal of providing a platform for young researchers to promote their work, learn about the latest developments in our field, and interact with their peers and potential collaborators.

We wish to thank the sponsors of the Hot Quarks 2018 Conference, who supported the authors of this volume:

ExtreMe Matter Institute EMMI at GSI (Germany), Helmholtz Association (Germany), Netherlands Association for Scientific Research (Netherlands), National Science Foundation (USA), Nuclear Physics Institute of The Czech Academy of Sciences (Czech Republic), *Universe*—An Open Access Journal of Theoretical Physics.

Organizers:

Javier Albacete (Universidad de Granada, Spain)

Jana Bielcikova (Nuclear Physics Inst., Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic)

Alessandro Grelli (Utrecht University & NIKHEF, Netherlands)

Jiangyong Jia (Stony Brook University & BNL, USA)

Jorge Noronha (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)

Hannah Elfner (nee Petersen) (GSI, Goethe University & FIAS, Germany)

Lijuan Ruan (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)

Sevil Salur (Rutgers University, USA)

Bjoern Schenke (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)

Anthony Timmins (University of Houston, USA)

Proceedings **2019**, 10, 37





© 2019 by the authors. Licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).