

**Editorial** 

# Biosensors Best Paper Award 2015

#### Jeff D. Newman

Cranfield Biotechnology Centre, SATM, Building 39, Cranfield University, Beds MK43 0AL, UK; E-Mail: j.d.newman@cranfield.ac.uk

Received: 23 June 2015 / Accepted: 23 June 2015 / Published: 23 June 2015

With the start of 2015, *Biosensors* is instituting an annual award to recognize outstanding papers related to science and technology of biosensors and biosensing that meet the aims, scope and high standards of this journal. We are pleased to announce the first "*Biosensors* Best Paper Award" for 2015. The winners were chosen by the Editor-in-Chief and a group of Editorial Board Members of *Biosensors* from among all the papers published in 2013 and 2014 to track citations. Only full research articles were considered. We gladly announce that the following 3 papers were awarded the *Biosensors* Best Paper Award in 2015:

1st Prize

### Linda G. Lee, Eric S. Nordman, Martin D. Johnson and Mark F. Oldham

A Low-Cost, High-Performance System for Fluorescence Lateral Flow Assays *Biosensors* **2013**, *3*(4), 360-373; doi:10.3390/bios3040360 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2079-6374/3/4/360

2<sup>nd</sup> Prize

## Scherrine Tria, Leslie H. Jimison, Adel Hama, Manuelle Bongo and R as n M. Owens

Sensing of EGTA Mediated Barrier Tissue Disruption with an Organic Transistor *Biosensors* **2013**, *3*(1), 44-57; doi:10.3390/bios3010044

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2079-6374/3/1/44

Biosensors 2015, 5

3rd Prize

Petri Ihalainen, Himadri Majumdar, Tapani Viitala, Björn Törngren, Tuomas Närjeoja, Anni Määttänen, Jawad Sarfraz, Harri Härmä, Marjo Yliperttula, Ronald Österbacka and Jouko Peltonen

Application of Paper-Supported Printed Gold Electrodes for Impedimetric Immunosensor Development

Biosensors **2013**, 3(1), 1-17; doi:10.3390/bios3010001

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2079-6374/3/1/1

These three exceptional papers are valuable contributions to *Biosensors* and the biosensing field. On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board of *Biosensors*, we would like to congratulate these three teams for their excellent work. In recognition of their accomplishment, Drs. Linda G. Lee, R ás ín M. Owens and Petri Ihalainen will be awarded the privilege of publishing an additional research paper free of charge in open access format in *Biosensors*.

Prize Awarding Committee

# Prof. Dr. Luigi Campanella

Environment, Cultural Heritage and Analytical Chemistry University of Rome La Sapienza Vecchio Edificio Chimica, P.le Aldo Moro, 5 - 00185 - Roma, Italy

#### Prof. Dr. Nicole Jaffrezic-Renault

Institute of Analytical Sciences, UMR CNRS 5280 Department LSA, 5 Rue de La Doua, 69100 Villeurbanne, France

Tel. +33472448306; Fax: +33 472 43 12 06

Website: http://www.univ-lyon1.fr

#### Prof. Dr. Ashok Mulchandani

Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering

University of California

Riverside, CA 92521, USA

Fax: +1-951-827-5696

Website: http://www.engr.ucr.edu/~adani/

# Dr. Jeff D. Newman

**Biomedical Engineering Centre** 

School of Engineering

Vincent Building, Cranfield University, Bedford, MK43 0AL, UK

Website: http://www.cranfield.ac.uk/health/abouttheschool/people/page8129.html

Biosensors 2015, 5 366

# **Prof. Dr. Michael Thompson**

Department of Chemistry
University of Toronto
80 St. George Street, Toronto, Ontario, M5S 3H6, Canada

Fax: +1 416 978 8775

Website: http://www.chem.utoronto.ca/staff/THOMPSON/

© 2015 by the author; licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).