

Editorial

Remote Sensing Best Paper Award for the Year 2014

Prasad Thenkabail

Editor-in-Chief, Research Geographer 15, United States Geological Survey (USGS), 2255, N. Gemini Dr., Flagstaff, AZ 86001, USA; E-Mail: pthenkabail@usgs.gov

Received: 23 December 2013 / Accepted: 24 December 2013 / Published: 22 January 2014

Remote Sensing has started to institute a "Best Paper" award to recognize the most outstanding papers in the area of remote sensing techniques, design and applications published in Remote Sensing. We are pleased to announce the first "Remote Sensing Best Paper Award" for the year 2014. Nominations were selected by the Editor-in-Chief and selected editorial board members from among all the papers published in the year 2010. Review papers and research papers were evaluated separately. We are pleased to announce that the following three papers have won the Remote Sensing Best Paper Award for the year 2014:

Article Award:

1st Prize

E. Raymond Hunt Jr., W. Dean Hively, Stephen J. Fujikawa, David S. Linden, Craig S. T. Daughtry and Greg W. McCarty

Acquisition of NIR-Green-Blue Digital Photographs from Unmanned Aircraft for Crop Monitoring *Remote Sens.* **2010**, *2*(1), 290-305; doi:10.3390/rs2010290

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2072-4292/2/1/290

2nd Prize

Bernardo Friedrich Theodor Rudorff, Daniel Alves Aguiar, Wagner Fernando Silva, Luciana Miura Sugawara, Marcos Adami and Mauricio Alves Moreira

Studies on the Rapid Expansion of Sugarcane for Ethanol Production in São Paulo State (Brazil) Using Landsat Data

Remote Sens. **2010**, *2*(4), 1057-1076; doi:10.3390/rs2041057 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2072-4292/2/4/1057

Review Award:

Xuelian Meng, Nate Currit and Kaiguang Zhao,

Ground Filtering Algorithms for Airborne LiDAR Data: A Review of Critical Issues *Remote Sens.* **2010**, *2*(3), 833-860; doi:10.3390/rs2030833

Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2072-4292/2/3/833

We believe these three exceptional papers represent valuable contributions to *Remote Sensing* and the scientific literature. On behalf of the Prize Awarding Committee and the Editorial Board of *Remote Sensing*, we would like to congratulate these three teams for their excellent work. In recognition of their accomplishment, Dr. E. Raymond Hunt Jr. and Dr. Bernardo Friedrich Theodor Rudorff will be awarded prizes of 600 CHF and 400 CHF, respectively, and the privilege of publishing an additional paper of their choice free of charge in open access format in *Remote Sensing*, after the usual peer-review procedure. Dr. Xuelian Meng will also be awarded the same privilege of publishing a research paper free of charge in *Remote Sensing*.

Prize Awarding Committee Members are as Follows:

Editor-in-Chief

Prof. Dr. Prasad S. Thenkabail

Research Geographer 15, United States Geological Survey (USGS), 2255, N. Gemini Dr., Flagstaff, AZ 86001, USA

E-Mail: pthenkabail@usgs.gov

Editorial Board Member

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wagner

Research Group Remote Sensing, Department of Geodesy and Geoinformation (GEO), Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien), Gusshausstrasse 27-29, 1040 Vienna, Austria E-Mail: wolfgang.wagner@geo.tuwien.ac.at

Editorial Board Member

Prof. Dr. Giles Foody

School of Geography, University of Nottingham, Nottingham, NG7 2RD, UK E-Mail: giles.foody@nottingham.ac.uk

Editorial Board Member

Prof. Dr. Alfredo R. Huete

Plant Functional Biology and Climate Change Cluster, School of Environment, University of Technology Sydney, 15 Broadway Road, Ultimo, NSW 2007, Australia E-Mail: alfredo.huete@uts.edu.au

© 2014 by the authors; licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland. This article is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/).